• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Hello all. Newbie here

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello all. Newbie here

Hi all,

I have been lurking around for a couple of weeks and have found the posts here are incredibly valuable.

I am looking to turn from permie to contracting and am currently in two minds whether to go with an umbrella or Ltd. When the first contract arrives.

I will be looking for around £400 - £450 a day and will limit the travelling required. My gut instinct tells me I should go with an umbrella to start with, then Ltd. later. However, I understand that Ltd. will be more tax efficient but require more admin work with the help of an accountant.

Also, does anyone employ (or has a need to employ) an accountant when going with an umbrella company? For expenses, for example?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Originally posted by mokster View Post
    Hi all,

I have been lurking around for a couple of weeks and have found the posts here are incredibly valuable.

I am looking to turn from permie to contracting and am currently in two minds whether to go with an umbrella or Ltd. When the first contract arrives.

I will be looking for around £400 - £450 a day and will limit the travelling required. My gut instinct tells me I should go with an umbrella to start with, then Ltd. later. However, I understand that Ltd. will be more tax efficient but require more admin work with the help of an accountant.