• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Forced to use a particular umbrella - is this allowed?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Forced to use a particular umbrella - is this allowed?

Hi - I often read these sites, but never felt enraged enough to contribute.... ...until now!

I am a seasoned contractor and have always been happy with the service I have from my umbrella company. I've been with then for 5+ years and don't have many bad things to say about them. I get paid on time and whilst I might disagree when they reject some of my expense claims, at least they have the decency to pick up the phone let me know.

I've recently finished my last assignment and have found work through a different agency. The agency is insisting that I must use one of the umbrella companies on their approved list, without exception. I've challenged them myself without success. The umbrella company has contacted them too - again without success.

Despite my best efforts, I feel resigned to moving to another umbrella company through the insistence of the agency. Has anyone else had this problem? Any ideas why this agency is so attached to using umbrellas on their approved list? Any other advice anyone can offer?

Originally posted by SameOldThing View Post
    Any other advice anyone can offer?
    Run your own limited company, switch umbrella, or walk away and find something else.