• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Setting-Up a Ltd Co

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Setting-Up a Ltd Co

Hi

I'm a first-time contractor still getting to grips with various aspects of contracting (although The Contractors Handbook is very useful!). Although I'm fairly clear that generally speaking, forming a Ltd Co would be more financially advantageous than working through an Umbrella Company, I'm baffled with the range of companies and options that seem to be available offering accounting services whilst delivering 85 or even 90% of the daily rate as net pay. I've contacted a company called Smart Pay and they seem highly credible, guaranteeing 85% through an apparently valid and HMRC approved financial mechanism. Does anyone of the forum have experience of Smart Pay please and would you recommend them?

In the meantime, I'm contratcing through an umbrella company which, while they seem very efficient, I'm only attaining around 67% of the daily rate, apparently as I already pay income tax through a pension from a previous employment. This seems very low to me even as an umbrella company although I'm not at all clear on this.

Very grateful for any input please!!

Thanks.

Hi Zeppelin,

85-90% returns are very risky:
    HMRC Scheme Enquiries
    Time's almost up for 16,000 tax scheme contractors :: Contractor UK