• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Owe Corporation Tax & Dividends, moved overseas

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Owe Corporation Tax & Dividends, moved overseas

I was living in the UK for a year or so, and unexpectedly had to move to the USA.
    I worked as a contractor in the UK and opened my own business accordingly.
    During my time in the UK I racked up a rather large debt of corp tax and dividends which I'd overpaid to myself (6 thousands pounds or so) ... I had the intention of paying this off, but alas, as I had to move it became a debt.
    I had an umbrella company in the UK looking after me, and they are since trying to contact me to arrange payment via email (I have not replied yet).
    I'm now concerned about the legal ramifications of this...
    Even though I am living overseas now, am I still liable for this debt? Can they track me down here in the US, or even in my home country (Australia)?
    Can I simply state that my business has no income, and thus this debt cannot be paid?
    Please help! Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Why would an umbrella company be looking after a LTD company?

You would usually use one or the other.

If you ever plan on coming to the UK again I would get in touch with HMRC and make efforts to either pay or wind down the company as insolvent. You never know if they would nick you at the bored for tax evasion otherwise!

Comment