• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella Companies - Am I Getting Conned?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Umbrella Companies - Am I Getting Conned?

Hi all, Im new here so please be gentle to me

I have been working as a contractor for 3 months and im about to have another 3 months added.

When i started i was told by my agency that i could only go with 4 umbrella companies on their books.

All 4 of them charge a high weekly rate and i do not want to be with any of the 4 listed.

I did my research prior to picking which one would suit me best but when i asked about other umbrella companies i was told that i couldnt go with them as they were not approved by the Director/Finance manager.

I have since found out that i could be earning an additional £70 a week if i went with an umbrella company not on the agencies books.

Does anyone know what i can do and confirm that this is allowed? £70 a week is a no brainer as far as im concerned?

I dont really want to open a can of worms but surely its my money.

Cheers

Bat

Originally posted by Bat View Post

I have been working as a contractor for 3 months and im about to have another 3 months added.

When i started i was told by my agency that i could only go with 4 umbrella companies on their books.

All 4 of them charge a high weekly rate and i do not want to be with any of the 4 listed.