• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Can my LTD company be a Umbrella?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can my LTD company be a Umbrella?

Hi,

I have a quick question and I hope this group being the fountain of
    knowledge might know the answer.

I have been contracting via a Ltd company since June 2005 and I decided
    to expand our business by employing a few full time staff at the start of the
    year.

At the moment I have a full time employee who I am struggling to find
    work for and I am trying to outsource to cover costs whilst project
    work is slow.

Our employe has been offered contract work but the agency has pulled the
    contract at the last minute as he is not a sole trader with a Limited
    Company & he stated that he does not work via a Umbrella company. The
    agency stated that they don't work with employees from other Ltd
    companies as its the agency policy.

Going forward, can we state that we are an umbrella company as we are
    processing his PAYE wages, tax, and providing insurances etc, and we
    have employed the person full time for nearly a year now, so we are not
    trying to do anything untoward.

What else do I need to provide as a umbrella company? The last thing I
    want to do is make my employee redundant, but I am in a position
    where I can't afford to continue paying wages for much longer.

Thanks in advance,

K