• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

MS Access

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

MS Access

I have an Access Table with a field listing files, and another field listing users. I want to split the table into multiple tables so Ican set up many to many relationships between them. The idea being that a file has many users and a user has many files.

Is this a simple thing to? I am no access expert.
    SUFTUM

May life give you what you need, rather than what you want....

Originally posted by Netraider View Post
    I have an Access Table with a field listing files, and another field listing users. I want to split the table into multiple tables so Ican set up many to many relationships between them. The idea being that a file has many users and a user has many files.

Is this a simple thing to? I am no access expert.
    Very simple - copy one column of your table, click create new table then paste. You'll need to add a primary key so add another column "ID" or whatever and set that to autonumber. Same for users and then create a new table defining the relationships

Comment

Easy peasy. I'm free next Thursday. £400.

Comment

Originally posted by mudskipper View Post
        Easy peasy. I'm free next Thursday. £400.
        Nah. Sounds like a few hours 1 evening. Give me a spec and I'll have it done tomorrow.

Just off to elance to find someone....
        merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment

Originally posted by eek View Post