• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

See Tickets website

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

See Tickets website

With Glastonbury ticket day coming up I want to get a better idea how See Tickets website deals with heavy traffic i.e how to have a setup that gives me an advantage. I onlz have a general knowledge of networking in that I am not a network engineer or deal with it on a daily basis.

My general thoughts are that:

- the more Public IP addresses you have then they will be treated as multiple requests by See and that simply having multiple tabs open in a single browser and refreshing manually will essentially be treated as a single session.
    - If See based its sessions on something at the application layer like the browser banner (very unlikely), then there might be an advantage in using different browsers from different vendors on the same machine.

other options I've seen banded around to improve chances are:

- multiple Private session tabs in Firefox
    - multiple browsers (e.g Firefox, Chrome) open and trying to refresh
    - setting auto refresh in Firefox
    - VPN to a different network (thus giving a different public IP)
    - running a VM session with a second browser trying to connect
    - traceroute to the given web address and then using the server IP address

Any ideas if any (or any combination) of the above would give any advantage? reasons why or why not would be appreciated for a better understanding.

cheers
    Chef
    The proud owner of 125 Xeno Geek Points