• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

help please = pdf.zip

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

help please = pdf.zip

Morning all

I'm a non IT contractor (finance) and yesterday one of my tiny little charity clients got emailed what they thought was a remittance advice from one of their customers. The attachment was in the format pdf.zip and said that they had a BACS receipt for £5,900. They didn't recognise the email address & couldn't open the attachment when they clicked on it. I can't tie the amount of money up to any of their invoices.

Having had a quick google I think its a virus. Do you know any free software I could download onto their machine when I'm out there later today that would check for us? Their computer is mainly just used for emails and diary bookings but I know that they want to put internet banking on it soon so I'd rather make sure it was clean before they go down that route.

I now have to break the news that I don't think they aren't going to be £6k better off today........

Originally posted by SarahL2012 View Post
    Morning all

I'm a non IT contractor (finance) and yesterday one of my tiny little charity clients got emailed what they thought was a remittance advice from one of their customers. The attachment was in the format pdf.zip and said that they had a BACS receipt for £5,900. They didn't recognise the email address & couldn't open the attachment when they clicked on it. I can't tie the amount of money up to any of their invoices.