• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

VAT return - Box 7

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VAT return - Box 7

Hi,
    I am an IT contractor operating my ltd company and as most contractors I have recently switched from the flat rate VAT scheme to standard VAT. While looking for instructions on how to fill in the return I came across a grey area.
    There seems to be some confusion regarding "Box 7 - Total value of purchases and all other inputs excluding VAT". From a search that I did, some say you only need to add up any expense subject to VAT and some just to add up everything except salaries.
    The expenses that I typically have are:
    expenses subject to VAT
    expenses non-vatable (e.g. train tickets)
    pension contributions
    bank charges
    mileage
    client entertainment

Do you think that all of the above should be included?
    If so what about client entertainment which is not an allowable expense hence I don't claim back the VAT?

Any advice will be much appreciated.

Originally posted by fotistso View Post
    Hi,
    I am an IT contractor operating my ltd company and as most contractors I have recently switched from the flat rate VAT scheme to standard VAT. While looking for instructions on how to fill in the return I came across a grey area.