• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

BIG GROUP

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
Collapse
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by webberg View Post
    As I said, I'm not a lawyer, but this point we have discussed with a barrister who I trust.

If you have a loan agreement, written or implied, and you are asked for repayment, refuse and the lender takes no action to perfect his claim within 6 years, then his claim can be denied at the end of that period.

If you have a loan agreement, written or implied, and you are NOT asked for repayment, then even if the repayment date passes, the lender retains able to demand repayment and the statute of limitations does not start.

As I said, I'm repeating advice given to us.
    It would be interesting to see if there is any case law on that. I reckon it has never happened.

Lets say it does happen and lender asks for repayment of these "loans"(which are really aggressive tax avoidance). The person with the loan refuses to pay. There is no way a lender will get any sort of court order from a judge when the circumstances are explained. I have no doubt HMRC will want their cut. However that is all.

Comment

Originally posted by BrilloPad View Post
      It would be interesting to see if there is any case law on that. I reckon it has never happened.