• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

"PSC Structure" with Aston Mae - is this above board?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"PSC Structure" with Aston Mae - is this above board?

Hi,

I'm a web developer in London with a LTD company. I was looking for ways to reduce my tax and was recommended Aston Mae.

I would like to know your opinion on whether it's above board.

Below is part of the email they sent me:
    -----

<email content removed>
    Last edited by administrator; 7 January 2015, 11:18. Reason: Email content removed on request

I suggest at the very least you ask the promoter for sight of a letter from HMRC that the rules in FA 2014 Sch 17 Part 2 will not apply. I predict that they cannot do this.

Happy to review further via PM but my advice is to carry on as you are and leave this alone.
    Last edited by administrator; 7 January 2015, 11:22. Reason: Details concerning specifics of the arrangement removed by request of Aston Mae

Comment

Bad idea. Walk away, quickly. Seriously.

The best and most tax efficient way to work or a one man band is via your own limited company. Any complex scheme or artificial cash-shipping deal is likely to bite you, very hard and very expensively. If AM had a valid business model why aren't we all using it?
      Blog? What blog...?

Comment

Yep, stay well away. There are identical LLP schemes in a lot of trouble.

Comment

Is the OP aware that Aston Mae are going to come after him with a hot poker for putting this on an open forum?