• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cancelled assignment

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cancelled assignment

Hi, I'm very new to the contracting industry so please be gentle. I have already ran into a few problems that I need help / advice with

1) My agency rang and asked if I could work in Leeds for 4 days (Fri, Sat, Sun and Mon) which I agreed to. Leeds is over 100 miles from where I live and so I booked a hotel for 3 nights. The agency rang me on Thursday at 4.55pm saying the work has been canceled. The hotel has a no refunds policy. Can agencies cancel at such short notice or is there a general rule whereby they have to honor payment if an assignment is cancelled at such short notice?

2) An end client has not yet approved a timesheet and it has been 2 weeks since I completed the assignment. I've rang my agency numerous times to get this chased but nothing has happened. I'm with an umbrella company. Any advice will be appreciated.

No doubt I'll be asking many more questions in due course as I have a lot of things on my mind in terms of contracting work. In the meantime, I'm just so glad I got I'm no longer working in a permanent job and this really is a refreshing experience so far (other than the few issues I'm currently having). It's fantastic not having to work for a-hole bosses in a permanent job!

Originally posted by Magpie2121 View Post
    Hi, I'm very new to the contracting industry so please be gentle. I have already ran into a few problems that I need help / advice with