• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

3 months / 6 months contract?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

3 months / 6 months contract?

Hi there,

I am new to contracting and trying to get my 1st contract at the moment. I have a few questions which I hope you could help me with:

1) Does a min 6 months contract really mean they will hire you for at least 6 months?

2) I have a very secure permie job at the moment and feeling that I need at least 6 months contract to make it worth the move, am I correct to assume a 6 months contract is safe enough?

3) I have seen several 3 months contract on offer, but I don't see the point of having them unless I am already on a contract. I don't really want to have the 3 months contract and then back on the bench for another 6 months having come out of a secure permie job.

4) For 3 months contract, do they usually get renewed? i don't see anyone could produce anything useful in that kind of time.

Kevin

1. Nope - you can be canned anytime unless the contract is water tight in your favour, which it never is.

2. Never really safe, but I'd go for it, never had a contract curtailed - but will they wait for your notice?

3. If your good you either get extended or get back in in the future. Contracting is a state of mind, a roller coaster ride of a novel, ups and downs, if it worries you stay in permiedom.