• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Should I be voicing that I'm under utilised?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should I be voicing that I'm under utilised?

Hi All,
    I'm half way through a 3 month contract with view of extension. I've not had any comments about my performance. However, I feel for the rate they are paying me. I am hugely under utilised. I work in IT Infrastructure and was brought in to work with Microsoft to resolve a number off issues. But I've only spent about 2 days doing that work and the rest of 1st/2nd line support like imaging PC's.

Its definitely not because they dont think i'm capable, as they regularly ask me to assist on niggling issues and point where they should looking in order to resolve it.

But should I say something to my manager that they 'are not getting their monies worth'? The 1st/2nd line stuff is boring and its certainly not what I signed up for (originally was meant to be Azure and SCOM work). But its a good company and the people I work directly with are down to earth, so I don't want to cut it short to find more meaty work.

They have a servicedesk team, who seem to be bypassed to come directly to me, I assume as I turn over the work faster.

You could just ask for more work without saying you are under-utilised? Can you see something there you would like to do? Is there any skills you would like to learn? Could you do some training?

Comment

Originally posted by BrilloPad View Post