• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Public sector direct contracting.. best method?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Public sector direct contracting.. best method?

Hi,

I have been a Ltd and Umbrella contractor via an agency, now I find myself at a university within IR35 without agency involvement... is it best for me to invoice the uni and be paid net to my personal bank account as an individual with the required insurances personally or get an umbrella company involved again?

What are they willing to do? Will they really go for a payment to a personal account? Ask them what they are willing to accommodate?
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

I doubt they'd be willing to do this because, if the relationship is factually akin to employment (as might be argued if they were to otherwise classify the contract as inside IR35), it exposes them to the consequences of not applying PAYE/NI correctly. However, to answer your question directly, yes, you'd be better off as a sole trader, providing that you're willing to expose your personal assets.

More than likely, it isn't an option.

Comment

Originally posted by jamesbrown View Post