• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract Renewal - what to do?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract Renewal - what to do?

I'm new to contracting and just coming up to the last month of my current contract. Just got emailed by the line manager confirming that my contract will be renewed for another 6 months.

I wish to stay on but want to negotiate for a higher rate, what's the usual response?

Do I reply to the email and say thanks and wait for the new contract from the agent to discuss the new rate with my agent?

Any advice please

Originally posted by JimC View Post
    I'm new to contracting and just coming up to the last month of my current contract. Just got emailed by the line manager confirming that my contract will be renewed for another 6 months.

I wish to stay on but want to negotiate for a higher rate, what's the usual response?

Do I reply to the email and say thanks and wait for the new contract from the agent to discuss the new rate with my agent?

Any advice please
    Why do you want a higher rate? you're unlikely to get one just because you feel like one.

Comment

Originally posted by FrontEnder View Post
      Why do you want a higher rate? you're unlikely to get one just because you feel like one.
      Because i feel like i took a lower rate initially as I was new and found out the day rate the client was paying for me so the agent are taking a big margin.

So i'm wanting to negotiate a rate with the agent.

Comment