• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Rate Negotiate due to change in Requirements (on-call)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rate Negotiate due to change in Requirements (on-call)

Hi... first post, been reading every day for a few weeks though trying to get up to speed as I just started my first contract.

The role has a lot more responsibility and risk attached to it than was apparent (...huge amounts more) during the initial contract negotiation and being a newb I didn't want to push the rate, so I am getting fleeced, which is apparently par for the course on the first one.

The client has introduced (a previously unmentioned) on call support element with their standardised compensation offer.

Now I am not convinced on-call will be a doddle as it's a big piece of software that's about to have a big bang release, so I imagine there will be teething problems.

Would it be appropriate to ask for an increase in my standard daily rate given the responsibility and risk that was not mentioned originally, using the on-call amendment as a starting position? As the on-call rate is based on standard rate this might also just about make on-call worthwhile.

It's worth noting that the client has struggled to recruit hence the amendment, which in theory gives me a stronger position but could be construed as taking advantage of a difficult situation.

Client definitely will not miss the money (they will pay the same; more than double my rate) but the chain of firms/agents in between will begrudge their margins shrinking.