• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

A classic permie to contractor question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A classic permie to contractor question

Hi,

Apologies for what seems to be a very popular question on these boards. I had a look through some previous posts but would appreciate some specific collective forum wisdom.

I'm currently a permanent java developer with about five years of experience. My current job is as secure as it gets really but I'm looking for a change.

I've been offered a role that I can take either as a permie or contractor. The contract rate will be around 4-00-450. The salary would be around 60. I've been thinking about taking the contracting leap but wasn't planning to do so until I built up a war-chest so financially it would be a bit of a risk, with a reliance on overdraft and CC if it all goes horribly wrong. It given me a few questions:

1.) The java contract maket: is it currently stable and reasonable to find work or are things difficult?
    2.) I consider myself a good, professional developer. I'm more dedicated and capable in my job than many others I've met but I'm not an amazing technical guru or wizzkid. On paper I imagine most contractors have more experience than me (I could be wrong) Is this going to make things too difficult when I'm looking for the next contract?
    3.) How often (in your experience) are contracts cancelled very early on. The lack of a war-chest makes this a bit of concern so it would have to be a calculated risk.

Edit: