• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Switching employment often

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Switching employment often

I'm new to contracting so I'm not familiar with how job hopping is viewed.
    I'm on my second contract, the first was 3 months and I didn't want an extension, I'm into the third month of the second (due to end in march), if I were to leave my current one early for higher pay is this going to hamper me longer run ?

Quitting a contract for another one should be something you do as an exception, not the norm.
    How big a difference in money is it?
    What difference is there in location/travel?
    What is wrong with the current contract?

While contracting is about having short term work, you are a supplier to your customers (the agents/clients). You should be striving to build up good relationships with your clients as you go along. Then when you've been doing this for a few years, you don't go looking for work, it comes looking for you.
    Your reputation is important, damaging it will take a long time to repair.

If you've built up a good war chest of maybe 1 year, then you might think about it, but the rate difference would need to be +50% and the location/contract security would need to be very good.
    …Maybe we ain’t that young anymore

Comment

Agents look at your previous contracts to see how often you get extended. Having two blocks of three months on your CV isn't going to do you any favours.

Comment