• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving on from dev advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving on from dev advice

After 20 odd years as a developer I have made a decision to move on from it.
    In short, I don't want to spend the rest of my working career chasing the latest javascript framework and the technical churn of dev tech.

I am planning on moving to BA a type role, even if it means going back to perm (blasphemous on here I know )

Anyone else made this kind of move out of dev?

Is it worth me doing something like the ISEB/BCS foundation course in BA?
    If I do that is it possible I could land a contract as opposed to defecting to permiedom?

Originally posted by hgllgh View Post

If I do that is it possible I could land a contract as opposed to defecting to permiedom?
    You should know as a contractor a couple of certs with no experience isn't going to cut it. What are you selling? What are you bringing to them for a couple of hundred quid a day?
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by northernladuk View Post
      You should know as a contractor a couple of certs with no experience isn't going to cut it. What are you selling? What are you bringing to them for a couple of hundred quid a day?