• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How to find contracts with big companies?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to find contracts with big companies?

Hello,
    I'm a bit new to contracting... so I have some questions about job hunting. I'm an Java Developer and when looking for contracts on jobs board I don't see ads from regular big companies, because they seem only to post for perm roles. But I know that they do hire contractors, simply I don't know which channels they use. For the most, you have to apply to job offerings from recruitment agencies and lose a lot of time trying to make them confess what job we're talking about.

I mainly use JobServe and Linkedin... sometimes CWJobs too.

So how do you approach the problem:
    - do you apply for roles that are for perm and maybe some big company replies
    - do you waste your time with recruiters
    - you use some secret trick?

Thanks everyone

You don't bother finding out who the contract is with while you apply.

Big companies generally use preferred supplier agencies but often you can guess the company by the location.
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

The big companies tend to use agents so you have to read the profiles and location on Jobserve and try and guess who the companies are. For example, I think we can all guess a financial client in Cheshire or a Telecoms client in Berkshire and so on.