• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Physio Expenses - claimable?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Physio Expenses - claimable?

Apologies if this has been asked before but I've scouted the forums and couldn't find anything appropriate.

As a developer I spend several hours day-after-day sat at my desk coding away. In the past I've had back/neck/pelvis issues attributable to this, confirmed by my physiotherapist - pelvic misalignment, right shoulder forward due to continual and prolonged mouse usage, etc. Now my issues have returned, largely due to a 10 week period of 7 days a week coding and I'm resigned to more physiotherapy to fix me up. Now these issues I feel are 100% due to work, so my question is whether it's allowable for my company to pay the expense of putting it right? It's not really a 'benefit' is it, being returned to the state I was in before the work broke me?

Personally I would say yes if you're happy that it is related to your work and would be happy arguing with HMRC. I suspect there are those more risk-averse who will say why bother to save 20% but IMO it comes down to the bigger picture - if you're generally by-the-book with your expenses then I can't imagine these being much of a red flag and worst case you repay the 20% plus interest which isn't going to be much?

Comment

Originally posted by TheFaQQer
      Yes, the company can pay for them.

It would be a benefit in kind that you would pay tax on though.

See https://www.gov.uk/expenses-and-bene...tment/overview