• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How to Respond when asked for Current / Previous Rate

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to Respond when asked for Current / Previous Rate

I've generally read that it's best to avoid giving prior or current rate to an agency when they ask about it, especially when aiming to get an increase, as it will simply increase their leverage. However, I'm quite new to contracting and would be interested in how people actually deal with the question (presumably more nuanced than just "No I won't tell you"!).

Is there a different approach for agencies vs end clients in an interview? Should the client industry be taken into consideration? For example in public sector the rough salary of most people is generally quite transparent, so could they take the wrong way to just be told 'no'?

I'd also would be interested in seeing if there are any people who do routinely reveal their current rate, or situations in which you would advise it.

Plenty of threads around this which should help you with your question.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=pr...hrome&ie=UTF-8
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Tell them the rate you want...This is a business to business relationship with commercial sensitivity involved, would they respond if the question was reversed?

Tell them what you want and then negotiate from there...

or...WNLUKS ^^^
      Join IPSE

Comment

Originally posted by Zylon View Post