Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 10 of 38

Still gathering requirements...

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default How to Respond when asked for Current / Previous Rate

I've generally read that it's best to avoid giving prior or current rate to an agency when they ask about it, especially when aiming to get an increase, as it will simply increase their leverage. However, I'm quite new to contracting and would be interested in how people actually deal with the question (presumably more nuanced than just "No I won't tell you"!).

Is there a different approach for agencies vs end clients in an interview? Should the client industry be taken into consideration? For example in public sector the rough salary of most people is generally quite transparent, so could they take the wrong way to just be told 'no'?

I'd also would be interested in seeing if there are any people who do routinely reveal their current rate, or situations in which you would advise it.

My post count is Majestic

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Plenty of threads around this which should help you with your question.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=pr...hrome&ie=UTF-8
    'CUK forum personality of 2011' - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Double Godlike!

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Tell them the rate you want...This is a business to business relationship with commercial sensitivity involved, would they respond if the question was reversed?

Tell them what you want and then negotiate from there...

or...WNLUKS ^^^
    Join IPSE

More time posting than coding

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Zylon View Post