• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Updating software skills

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Updating software skills

Hi all,

I'm a Software Engineer contractor, currently in a role that requires C++ and Qt skills.

I'm well aware after a stint of unemployment last year that C++ isn't the most sought-after programming skill, and I'd like to be able to apply for contracts that are more up-to-date in terms of the technologies they're looking for.

I've learned a fair amount of C#/WPF in my own time, and would like to be able to apply for roles along those lines, but agents tend to dismiss me on the basis that I haven't done much work with C# or WPF in an actual working environment. The fact that I have about 10 years experience as a Software Engineer working across multiple languages (C, C++, Java) doesn't really seem to matter.

So my question is - how do I go about breaking into roles with these technologies? I'm starting to feel a bit boxed in.

Question is how do you get demonstrable skills that would convince a client to hire you.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by Synesthetic View Post
      Hi all,

I'm a Software Engineer contractor, currently in a role that requires C++ and Qt skills.

I'm well aware after a stint of unemployment last year that C++ isn't the most sought-after programming skill, and I'd like to be able to apply for contracts that are more up-to-date in terms of the technologies they're looking for.