• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract Rate

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract Rate

Hi

I've got over 22 years experience in IT Architecting (Which includes AD, Networks, XenDesktop etc).

I left my full time employer, and now they want to contract me in for 3 to 6 months as they can't get anyone with my experience. I don't know how long the contract will be, I'm there until they can find a suitable replacement.

The work is easy and basically Windows Support, covering Desktop and Servers.

I am being asked what my hourly rate is. Is £50+VAT a bit steep? I am going through an agency.

I'll only be working 4 days a week and this is my first proper contract so I don't really know what to charge.

Thanks

James

You're going back to the same company to do the same role?

You'll need to factor in that you're inside IR35. That means full PAYE and no expenses.

Your location will make a difference too, with London rates higher than elsewhere.
    The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world that he didn't exist

Comment

£50 + VAT is about right agencies pay anywhere between £250-450 a day + VAT for these roles in banking so £50 ph is dead on the money.

Comment

Thanks for the replies

Same Company, but I should of said a different role.
        I'd say the contract will last 3 months as they are looking for someone to fill the position. They are desperate and having a hard time finding the right person.

Comment

Originally posted by calibra View Post