• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Delayed start date and

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Delayed start date and

Hi there

I'm new to contracting, just resigned from a permanent job and took a contract.

I was asked by the recruiter to give a short notice to my employer so I can start early. I did as they told me and signed the contract for 13th of March.

On the 9th of March they told me there is a delay of 2 days and then it carried on to 2 weeks. And they said no to any compensation. The recruiter doesn't reply promptly to my emails or calls in the last 2 days. That's is the situation I'm in, very stressful to say the least.

I've few questions

1) Can they just say no to compensation ?

2) In two weeks time if they say I'm not needed at all ? Where do I stand legally? Any chance of compensation?

3) Is it common to delay contract start dates ?

Thanks

Originally posted by Zsat01 View Post
    Hi there

I was asked by the recruiter to give a short notice to my employer so I can start early. I did as they told me and signed the contract for 13th of March.

On the 9th of March they told me there is a delay of 2 days and then it carried on to 2 weeks. And they said no to any compensation. The recruiter doesn't reply promptly to my emails or calls in the last 2 days. That's is the situation I'm in, very stressful to say the least.

I've few questions

2) In two weeks time if they say I'm not needed at all ? Where do I stand legally? Any chance of compensation?

Thanks