• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Luck Run Out?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Luck Run Out?

I'm prepared for a bit of piss taking here but can a couple of people give me their informed views please?

I have been contracting for three years now, first six months was with a telco and the last 30 months was with two different local authorities. I have had several renewals. I am a project manager who works on web dev and SharePoint projects (I have some service management project experience and some infrastructure project experience but I am definitely not an 'infrastructure pm).

My problem is that my current contract runs out in five weeks time and I have had very little attention from agents. I have been put forward for some Central and Local government contracts but it has not got to interview stage. My two best theories for this is that agents are getting reluctant to place contractors from out of area and they are wary of dealing with you if you are still in contract, when they can deal with people who can start immediately.

Are either of these two theories credible? I am considering the other possibility that my luck has run out and there is too small a market for software pms with public sector experience?

I am thinking of going back to permiedom for a few years to get either other sectoral or product experience.