• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Thinking of contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thinking of contracting

PLEASE DELETE THIS POST IF DEEMED INAPPROPRIATE

Good Afternoon Folks

I hope you're all well. Ever since I was made redundant about 7 years ago, I have had short term temporary contracts - the longest has been for 6 months, and generally they are 3 months or shorter. I have over 15 years experience of credit control (debt collection), and despite that, I'm having great difficulty in securing permanent employment. It may also be due to the fact that I have not had a permanent job for the last 7 years or so and /or perhaps to do with my age - I have recently turned 49.

I am now thinking of doing contract work as a credit controller, but very scared to take the plunge. If I decide to take this route, how can I get enough clients in order for me to make money to meet my own living expenditure? How can I find out that there is a market out there for contract credit controllers? A lot of my friends have said there are loads of companies out there who are owed money by customers and they would need someone to make sure the money is collected. However, I'm not so sure that there is a ready made market out there for my services.

What is your opinion on this?

Any responses greatly appreciated.

Most of us on here are IT contractors. There are a few engineers on here as well. And personally I know non-IT project managers, accountants and graphic designers/digital artists.