• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract hunt advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract hunt advice

Hi All

First time on this forum. I would like a bit of advice please. I have been contracting for a short time, two roles, each 9 months long. I am an infrastructure engineer and I found those roles quite easily. I finished my last contract in December and took a holiday and started looking in from mid January and I haven't found anything and found the market to be quiet. Is this the usual. What is the usual bench time between contracts? Feel like I might be panicking when I am thinking of applying for permie roles in 4 weeks time if nothing turns up. Just some advice please

Thanks

So about 4 weeks? Not uncommon really I'm afraid. Some people on here have gone for a few months or more. Hopefully you built yourself a solid warchest up so you can survive inbetween gigs without worrying. Ideally you want 6 months + to be safe but anything over that doesn't hurt.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by Bhimyo View Post
      Hi All