• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

A bit of work for a company in the Cayman Islands

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A bit of work for a company in the Cayman Islands

I have been contracting for 5 years, mainly in the south of England. I have been offered 6 months work for a company in the Cayman Islands.

I have absolutely no experience of the rules and regs and I am finding it difficult to find any guidance.

Is it as simple as my uk ltd company receives payment, I then pay corporation tax on that etc? Do people even actually do this kind if thing.

To confirm - the work will be done remotely from the UK.

Thanks

I would guess that as you'll be in the UK as long as you pay UK tax you'll be OK.
    Cayman Island is a British Overseas Territory and tax haven, so I would imagine that the client understands the CI tax obligations and will have that covered.

IANAITL
    Last edited by Lance; 10 February 2017, 10:56. Reason: disclaimer
    See You Next Tuesday

Comment

I have a friend who works in the CI as a permie.

He said it is very, very expensive. And they prefer single persons, not couples with kids etc.

Comment

Originally posted by icemancomeths View Post
        I have been contracting for 5 years, mainly in the south of England. I have been offered 6 months work for a company in the Cayman Islands.

I have absolutely no experience of the rules and regs and I am finding it difficult to find any guidance.