• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice appreciated

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice appreciated

Hi everyone

After 18 yrs working for the same company in a permanent role, I find myself surplus to their requirements and looking to try out contracting in the northwest area

My background is 2nd line support with various skills picked up along the way

Tentatively looking at support contacts with sc clearance, I'm sort of hoping I can find one that pays what was earning (2k net) just so I can feed the family

During my time at work, I've worked with many contractors earning £20ph that I've had to teach basic IT skills and these people have never been struggling for work!

I guess I'm looking for some reassurance that there is work out there for the likes of me?

Thank you

Originally posted by Thatsmysurname View Post
    I guess I'm looking for some reassurance that there is work out there for the likes of me?
    People will say it's bad time for contracting but I suspect you will have no problem.

Bear in mind your options will be drastically limited if you are not prepared to travel or stay away. As a result you need to be careful about not accepting a rate that is too low.

Go on Jobserve and set up your alerts. The just fire off CVs for appropriate roles.