• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Market downturn

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by quackhandle View Post
    Quite a few pimps getting in touch with DBA roles (granted some permy, but quite a few contract) surprising for January.

qh
    I've had some as well just due to having various databases on my CV.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

I am an Oracle Developer, have 20 years experience in Database, PL/SQL , Forms , Reports , APEX , ADF , Portal and 11G Application Server. Also have SQL Server skills and a few other databases and a couple of years .NET and VB / VBA but that was ten years ago

Have been contracting for 16 months and have been out of work for 7 months

World's biggest Database company and hardly any dev jobs pop up since Oct 16

Oracle seem to have done a great job in selling all the other products like OIBEE and no one wants to do development anymore

Getting concerned is an understatement .......

Its ok saying get skilled up in other areas but you arent going to get the job if you've done an online course , I've been learning java , xcode and SSIS and SSRS , to be honest they are very similar to products i've used previously, once you learn the syntax and interface

Comment

Originally posted by PrestonChris View Post
        World's biggest Database company and hardly any dev jobs pop up since Oct 16
        Have you applied for every relevant job on Jobserve, or have you got some constraints - location, rate etc?