• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor becoming employer

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor becoming employer

I am an engineering contractor who has a supplier agreement with a client for the provision of a suitably qualified engineer (ie me) to undertake analysis works.

I am considering employing (PAYE or Ltd) an engineer to fulfil this role leaving me available to service other clients with the aim of growing my company.

Does anybody have any experience / advice on taking this leap.

Any help is much appreciated

Assuming you have a Ltd - as you say there are two routes:

Ltd to Ltd with the engineer that you will be sending to your client. Your company will then just pay their company. I assume he will be left to his own devices and you will not be controlling the work that he does. He would then be a subcontractor.

Or if they will be an employee of your company (you'll effectively be controlling them), then he'll need to be added onto the payroll with PAYE deducted.

Either way the contract will still remain between your Ltd company and the end client. Then you will have another agreement with the engineer.

Plus, you'll need to look at your business insurances to make sure you have enough cover as well
    We're all ears!

Comment

Originally posted by Louisa@AardvarkAccounting View Post
      Assuming you have a Ltd - as you say there are two routes: