• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to Contracting - Did I jump in too soon?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to Contracting - Did I jump in too soon?

Hi

I'm 6 months in to my first contract but I cant help thinking I should have gained more experience in the permanent market first.

I was a MI analyst (with a bit of data developing) for 2 years, built up some good skills around SQL, the BI Stack and Tableau but my salary was low, around 21k so I decided to get a new job. A large investment bank offered me a year contract at £140 a day as a reporting analyst (excel based) so I thought brilliant, good pay rise and a decent length 1st contract.

I've began looking at other contracting jobs and my rate seems quite low, in fact I couldn't find any that were at my rate, so I applied for them. I got a lots of calls of agencies but no interviews and I think my experience is the problem.

I'm quite confident I could get a permanent position in a technical role fairly easily so should I do that and gain more experience or should I do up my cv, create a Linkin profile and start seriously applying for contracts nearer to the end of my current contract?

Any advice will greatly appreciated.

Jazz up the cv and LinkedIn. Never stop looking. Build up a network of contacts.

And don't take my advice. It's usually wrong according to other form members.

Comment

Originally posted by harper146 View Post