• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Accepting another contract due to delay

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Accepting another contract due to delay

Hi! I'm new to contracting, and I have a question about whether a recent decision I made was professionally advisable.

Last month I got a couple of offers through two different recruiters. I chose one, confirmed my preference with both recruiters and waited for the contract to come through, expecting to start next week.

Yesterday, the recruiter called to say that there was a problem: the person who was meant to confirm my contract on the client's end was now on holiday until next Tuesday. There was also something about them having to review their recent contract offers to make sure they still aligned with the budget.

The outcome was that my start date would now be delayed by an unknown duration and there was a small, but non-zero, chance that the contract would not materialise—and I wouldn't know either for sure until next week.

Ultimately, I called the other recruiter and am now moving forward with the other offer. My questions are:
    • Would this generally be considered unprofessional given that I already verbally accepted the first offer? Or is a change in start date and unknown chance that it could be withdrawn a reasonable basis for reconsidering?