• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Left permie position for contract but still not signed - mistake?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Left permie position for contract but still not signed - mistake?

I am new to contract work so would like some advice on my current situation.

I recently interviewed at a big company through a recruiter for a 6 month contract and was offered the job. I then handed in my notice at my current job (I had to do this in order to negotiate my notice with my current employer) - however several days have passed now and the agent has still not sent me a contract to sign, I have asked for it a few times and they don't seem to be in a great rush - is this sort of thing normal or am I right to be a bit worried? I am completely new to contract work so not sure what to expect.

Nope it's fairly normal... As is the contract just evaporating while they wait for your notice unfortunately. If you've got a warchest behind you in case this gig falls though you'll be OK. If you haven't they yes I'd worry.

BTW. Pedantic point. You've applied for a gig or piece of work. You job is being a contractor. Pedantic but if you get your head round this now it's will save you a lot of confusion later.
    Last edited by northernladuk; 16 March 2016, 01:50.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

What is your official notice period at the perm job? If its 1month+ then the agent probably isn't going to rush to get the paperwork done given they have a fair length of time

Comment