• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How to get access to better roles/rates? (BA)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to get access to better roles/rates? (BA)

Hi all,
    I am a IT BA contractor with over 10yrs of experience. Though I have programming background, my skills are fairly generic . I worked in areas like cards, retail banking, private banking and investment banking. My daily rate has become stagnant at £500. I'd like to improve my qualifications to get access to better roles and rates.

As a starting point, I'm working on BCS BA Diploma (2 modules done). I'm looking for advice from experienced financial services BAs on this forum. What skills/certifications/qualifications will help me get into £600+ league? My main problem now is that since my skills are generic, there is a LOT of competition for roles that suit my skills. Rates are coming down for generic BA skills.

Since I have recent experience in private banking, I'm considering taking up IMC exam. Would it help in any way? What about Exams like CFA/FRM or GARP certification like ICBRR?

Any relevant advice is gratefully received.

Why not have a look on jobserve and the like and check the requirements for BA roles paying what are after and do what you need to to meet them. I would take a guess qualifications aren't the main requirement.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by bluedrop View Post
      Hi all,