Posts 1 to 10 of 14

Nervous Newbie

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default 14 days notice period for contract termination meaning

Hi,

I'm a contractor and my contract state a 14 days notice period should be given in order to end the service, before the contract end date. My question is how much penalty needs to be paid to settle the early termination?
    - Is it 10 working days (10 * day rate), which is same as 2 weeks notice period?
    - Is it 14 working days (14 * day rate).

In either case, any supporting document / link would be much appreciated. I search over the internet for a long time but didn't find any answer, Can someone please help?

Thanks,
    vijay

I live on CUK

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

If it says "14 days" it means by normal custom and practice it means 14 calendar days. If those calendar days fall on a working day that's what you may be entitled to compensation for. So if 12 of those 14 days are normal working days you get 12 days compensation.

However you may not necessarily be entitled to compensation for being terminated early. Why? Your contract states if there is no work to do then you don't get paid this means only in exceptional circumstances you will be paid for doing nothing.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Faqqed Off

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by vj12354 View Post
    Hi,

I'm a contractor and my contract state a 14 days notice period should be given in order to end the service, before the contract end date. My question is how much penalty needs to be paid to settle the early termination?
    - Is it 10 working days (10 * day rate), which is same as 2 weeks notice period?
    - Is it 14 working days (14 * day rate).