• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Self-employment & employment

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Self-employment & employment

Hi,

Not sure if this is the right place for this question. If not, I guess the mod(s) will move it.
    If I am currently a sole trader and have helped a number of companies, but for one or two reasons, wish to dip my toes back into the 'employment market', and I spot a temporary job e.g. through a recruitment agency, how would I go about applying for that job?
    Obviously, there is going to be a gap on my CV due to my self-employment, however how would this be viewed by an agency (or even the employer)?
    Has anyone here, for whatever reason, been in that situation?
    If so, how did you deal with it?
    Hope my question is clear enough. Thanks.

Originally posted by tdhgeek007 View Post
    Obviously, there is going to be a gap on my CV due to my self-employment
    Why do you think the space should not contain the self employment stuff?

Comment

Originally posted by jmo21 View Post
      Why do you think the space should not contain the self employment stuff?
      Hi, yeah, I had thought of that one, but if I did put the information in, I wouldn't be able to give fixed dates due to the random as and when needed nature of my work.
      I suppose agencies must deal with people who are self-employed, all of the time???

Comment