• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Being 'moved' to CL1. The new contract overlaps...extended too...?!?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Being 'moved' to CL1. The new contract overlaps...extended too...?!?

I've been working for a government agency for a couple of months now, under a contract which previously passed an IR35 contract review. This contract runs out in about 7 weeks.

Over the past few weeks there was news of me and others working via the same recruitment agency having our contracts changed - such that we were now effectively working under the CL1 agreement. Paid via the agency still, but under CL1.

The weird thing about all this is that my contract, outside IR35, is all ok until it expires. Yet I've been asked to sign the new CL1 version. It was a pretty 'soft' ask by the recruitment agency. No deadline.

This new contract, rather surprisingly, has a start date of about 2 weeks ago, and an end date which effectively extends my contract by 5 months, on the same rate.

I have several issues with this:
    a) My current contract is outside IR35 and all good for another 7 weeks, so I see no point in signing a new one which might be inside IR35.
    b) How can I sign two contracts which overlap with each other anyway?