• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

contract terminated without notice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

contract terminated without notice

Hi,

I am an IT contractor and found out yesterday that I have had my contract terminated with immediate effect.
    The email from my agency states it is due to "unsatisfactory performance".

I have been on a 3month rolling contract with 30days notice period all year (by both parties) until being notified just last week that any future contracts would be 1month 7days notice, with effect 1st October.

I have never been in this position before and do not quite know how to proceed. It is my understanding that I
    should be given 30days notice and therefore should be paid that given that I have not broken any rules.

Would someone be able to assist interpretting these contractual items?
    Regards
    Bob

5. Termination of a Supply

5.1 Either the Consultancy or the "Whatever Group" may terminate a Supply by giving notice of to the other as detailed in a schedule to the Terms, in the absence of a period of notice being detailed in a schedule to the Terms the period of notice required shall be 30 days.

5.2 The "Whatever Group" may without notice, and without liability, instruct the Consultancy to cease work on a Supply at any time, where:

5.2.1 the Consultancy, or its Staff, has committed any serious, persistent, or deliberate, breach of any of its obligations under the Terms; or