• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

UK Contracting Notice Period Legalities

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UK Contracting Notice Period Legalities

I am a UK contractor with a registered limited company.

My contract stipulates that my agency can terminate the contract within 7 days notice, where as the I cannot give notice, and can only leave at the end of the assignment or extension offer.

Is this legal, and If I were to leave would they have the right to sue me for damages incurred by my absence for the remainder of the agreed contract period?

Originally posted by sabobin View Post
    If I were to leave would they have the right to sue me for damages incurred by my absence for the remainder of the agreed contract period?
    Potentially yes.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

And check this thread out.... very useful...

http://forums.contractoruk.com/welco...uk-forums.html

Comment

Is this legal, and If I were to leave would they have the right to sue me for damages incurred by my absence for the remainder of the agreed contract period?
        a) Yes. That clause is certainly legal. Whether it would be upheld in a contractual dispute is different. I'd want long odds against it though.

b) Yes. Anybody has the right you describe. Success of defending it? If you just left slim. If there were other factors related to that contract, less clear.