• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Best way to pay extra income into pension...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best way to pay extra income into pension...

I currently pay myself a 12k salary and 28k dividends so any extra income attracts a higher tax rate. I have some extra income coming in as a sole trader, I'd like to put this income into a pension and not pay the higher rate of tax. I was wondering whether there is any difference with the following solutions?

1. Adjust my salary to compensate for the extra income and pay into my pension from my ltd.

Eg, for 3k income as a sole trader:
    - Salary from ltd becomes 9k
    - 3k sole trader income is taxed as personal income
    - 3k is paid into pension from the ltd

2. Keep the salary the same and pay the extra income direct into the pension. With this solution I am also not sure how much I need to pay into the pension. In this instance, does anyone know how much I need to pay into the pension (personally) to offset say 3k income at the higher tax rate?

If there are no difference between the two options then I would prefer option 2 as the extra income would vary from year to year.

I know this is a question for my accountant but he is always conveniently 'in a meeting'.

Thanks in advance!

Originally posted by hmmm View Post