• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

broken the 24month rule

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

broken the 24month rule

Can anyone help me please - I have been contracting with my current client for 3 years of which the last 2 years i have been claiming expenses (moved home and now travel to client work place and stay in apartment during weekdays). I had believed you can claim 24 months expenses when you start claiming but now i have been told by a work collegue that it takes consideration of the whole contract length not just when you start claiming expenses.

What penalty will i incur from HMRC? Will they look to claim back the tax from the claim expenses (19/20% of the expenses cost) only or is there more penalties on top? If more on top, what is it?

Originally posted by tails View Post
    Can anyone help me please - I have been contracting with my current client for 3 years of which the last 2 years i have been claiming expenses (moved home and now travel to client work place and stay in apartment during weekdays). I had believed you can claim 24 months expenses when you start claiming but now i have been told by a work collegue that it takes consideration of the whole contract length not just when you start claiming expenses.

What penalty will i incur from HMRC? Will they look to claim back the tax from the claim expenses (19/20% of the expenses cost) only or is there more penalties on top? If more on top, what is it?
    1. Ask your accountant.