• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dividend/Loan

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dividend/Loan

newbie here.

can i take out dividends if i have an outstanding loan with the company? and what happens if the loan isn't repaid by the time of accounts filing?

Yes you can take dividends.

Any loans to directors (and shareholders) outstanding at the balance sheet date (your company’s period end) have to be disclosed in the accounts and on the company tax return.

If they are not repaid within 9 months of the accounting period end then the company will pay extra Corporation Tax of 32.5% of the loans taken out after 6 April 2016 (or 25% on loans taken before 6 April). This extra 32.5% is repayable to the company by HMRC when the loan is repaid to the company.

If you can't use google or an accountant, maybe you should go back to permiedom....

Comment

I don't wish to be rude here, well I do but can't afford the infractions at the moment, but why are you buggering about with loans when you clearly don't understand the absolute basics of you remunerate yourself? Being a newbie is not an excuse to know so little and make so little effort to try understand it?

It's pretty fundamental so a bit of reading of the guides on the right or a bit of googling should be enough to understand most of your question. The rest you should be asking your accountant. You really shouldn't be messing with loans if you don't know the impact, cost and operation of them let alone the basics of dividends.