• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Have been asked to sign an NDA

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Have been asked to sign an NDA

I'm a freelance web developer (working from home) operating as a limited company and a potential client wants me to sign a one-page NDA before I can access their website code (to provide them with estimates for changes).

What would be the best thing to do?

I'm thinking of asking a solicitor to review the NDA (which looks like a copy and pasted template), but I've never used/needed a solicitor before and don't know anyone good to contact regarding this.

I've had a few similar NDAs before and have usually just signed and sent back, but I'd like to be a bit more professional this time.

I've used the law society website to find a local solicitor who do intellectual property, but there are loads! I would prefer one I could email/phone.

Any advice or recommendations would be appreciated.

Thank you.

An NDA is essentially something to say you promise you won't blab about the project, client, or anything that could be commercially sensitive.

If it's asking for you to transfer IP to them then that's not an NDA.

Comment

Originally posted by ladymuck View Post
      An NDA is essentially something to say you promise you won't blab about the project, client, or anything that could be commercially sensitive.

If it's asking for you to transfer IP to them then that's not an NDA.
      Yes, that is pretty much what it is saying. Should I just sign it and send it back then?

Comment