• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

VAT Reclaim - FRS

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VAT Reclaim - FRS

Hi

I have been contracting for many years and have had an accountant all that time - I let them worry about the VAT and Corp Tax.

Turns out that when I had a change of accountant 3 years ago who advised I had underpaid VAT so needed to make an additional payment of £4,300 odd, two years later it appears that was incorrect- I had only underpaid by £1,200.

So, I have now gone perms and so can't get the money back by subtracting from a quarterly VAT return.

I spoke to my accountant and they suggested to leave it as my company was closing and a reclaim on the FRS would raise a flag - I was interested what others thought, I get what he is saying but also that it is a lot of ££ to be saying goodbye to and can't help but feel like the accountant is wanting to 'hide' there errors.

Ask him why it would raise a flag? And then question what there is in your accounts that could be flagged anyway.

If it was me, I'd rather have the money that is due to me in my pocket rather than HMRC's - if it was this accountant's mistake then tell him you'll accept his advice and take the money directly from him instead.
    Best Forum Advisor 2014
    Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
    Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

Flag