• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting in Ireland using UK Ltd Company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi Experts!

I have been contracting in Ireland since November 2016 using my UK Ltd Company.

It was initially a short contract of only 6 weeks, so I didn't worry about making my company tax compliant at the time (I know, big mistake!).

I have being doing all my accounting correctly in the UK, but nothing done yet in Ireland...
    The daily rate that was agreed, was based on UK tax calculations, so if I starting paying taxes over all my company's income, which can be twice as much as in the UK, I am doomed!!!

My idea was to pay myself through PAYE in Ireland enough to cover my expenses (excluding accommodation, which is recoverable up to a year), say 1,500.00 EUR a month.
    Would also need to:
    - process monthly Irish payroll and issue payslips
    - register my company as a Non-resident for Tax in Ireland;
    - run monthly returns to Irish Revenue (P30).

Has anyone successfully done this before?
    Also, is it possible to arrange Dividends to be taxed solely in the UK? (so that I only pay income tax and CT in Ireland)

Any advice and suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

My first piece of advice would be to get an accountant who knows what to do.

Question: Are you direct with an end client, or are you working through an agency/third party?
    If there is a company between you and the end client, where are they based and what currency are you billing in?